chess puzzles

Chess Puzzles

Share and you will discover!
Strange name, real hobbies
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
bataii 67 ( +1 | -1 )
Rules-Royal Pin Okay, I have a question. First, this is an active game so please don't show me how to win. There are other pieces on the board which I won't provide here. I'm only interested in knowing what the rule states about this particular, somewhat hypothetical, scenario.

White has the following set up:
Rooks on f2 and f1.
King on g1.
Pawns on g2 and h2.
Queen on e7.

Black has:
Pawns on f7,g7,h7.
King on g8.
Rooks on f8 and c8.
Queen on d4.

Now the question. If white plays 1. Qxf7, is black allowed to play 1. ... Kxf7?

Since the rook on f2 is not allowed to move due to the pin by black's queen against the white King, is the black king really putting himself in check with this capture?

thanks,
bataii
tovmauzer 3 ( +1 | -1 )
No Kxf7 is not possible move.
taoistlunatic 13 ( +1 | -1 )
yes, the king would be in check. the object of the game is to kill the opponent's king FIRST. So the king cannot put himself in check even by a pinned piece.
More: Chess
acne 3 ( +1 | -1 )
no, ...Kxf7 is an illegal move.
bataii 5 ( +1 | -1 )
Ah! Okay, now I know :-) Thanks for all the input.

bataii
brobishkin 5 ( +1 | -1 )
A quote to remember... He whom loses his King first... Does not win...
adrianallen 14 ( +1 | -1 )
Some otb tournaments If you move your king into check by mistake, it can be taken. Or if you fail to move your king out of check the same applies
brunetti 43 ( +1 | -1 )
Where? King cannot be taken; the move must be took back.

Even in blitz chess, where special rules applies: if you move or leave your King in check, the opponent, notifying it, wins. But if he takes your king, the he loses!

In standard chess any illegal move, included leaving or moving the King in chess, can't be played. The position prior to the illegal move must be restored.

Alex
calmrolfe 11 ( +1 | -1 )
Alex Do you mean that in your much loved King's Gambit, you don't actually sacrifice your King ?..!!

:)